Dreamy Face Cream

Frankincense-Face-Cream

This fabulous face cream was found on RealFoodRN when I became interested in essential oils for DIY body products.

I have been using it for over a year – shared several lip balm size containers with friends and still had enough to last more than a year! A friend of mine says it smells like the Snickerdoodle cookies I like to make. I will take that as a compliment! I can tell a big difference in the skin around my eyes. I do not have the tiny lines that I used to and believe it has improved the state of my almost 50 yr old skin! I will continue to make this and make tiny changes as I discover more oils that I like. I decreased the Frankincense oil by 10 drops and added Rosehip oil to my most recent recipe and so far I like it.

Note: this recipe makes about 1 cup of face cream. I divide it between 2 jars and store one in the fridge for later. If you only want a small amount, then divide the recipe in two.

I have included the links to the products from the original post.

Frankincense Face Cream

Ingredients:

Directions:

  • In a double boiler, melt the cocoa butter
  • Combine melted cocoa butter, coconut oil, jojoba oil, and almond oil in a mixing bowl (I use the bowl from my kitchen aid mixer)
  • Place the bowl into your fridge until it starts to harden
  • Once it is cooled and hardened, put the bowl under your stand mixer, or use your hand mixer to whip it up
  • Scrape the sides of the bowl with a spatula and whip some more. I scrape and whip several times to get it all well combined
  • Whip until nice and fluffy, then add in the Frankincense and whip until combined
  • Store Frankincense Face Cream in the glass jar, or transfer to any container you desire. I use these or these (you can also find some really cute bottles and jars HERE)
  • Apply Frankincense Face Cream to skin as needed for moisturizing, I use it morning and night. You only need a small amount to cover your face, if you use too much it will be greasy. A little bit goes a long way!
  • I store mine in the fridge in the warmer months to keep it cool. Its very refreshing to apply a cool cream in the summer!

Leave a comment